## **HEVESY MEDAL AWARD 2013**

The Hevesy Medal Award Selection Panel 2013 (HMASP-13) is pleased to announce that **Professor Dr. Hab. Rajmund S. DYBCZYŃSKI** (r.dybczynski@ichtj.waw.pl) of the Institute of Nuclear Chemistry and Technology, Warszawa, Poland, has been selected to receive the Hevesy Medal Award 2013 (HMA-13) in recognition of his outstanding contributions to the field of radiochemical neutron activation analysis (RNAA), in particular for proposing the idea of "definitive" methods by RNAA, and to the certification of reference materials.

The Hevesy Medal and a Scroll will be presented to Professor DYBCZYŃSKI at the APSORC'13 - 5<sup>th</sup> Asia-Pacific Symposium on Radiochemistry to be held in Kanazawa, Japan during 2013 September 22-27.

The HMASP-13 consisted of Professor Tibor BRAUN (Hungary, also representing JRNC), Professor CHAI Zhifang (China), Professor Amares CHATT (Canada, also Chair of HMASP-13), Professor Elisabete A. de Nadai FERNANDES (Brazil), Dr. Robert R. GREENBERG (U.S.A.), Professor Boris F. MYASOEDOV (RUSSIA), and Dr. Yuichiro NAGAME (Japan, also representing APSORC'13). In accordance with the rules of the Award, a secret ballot was conducted.

The George Hevesy Medal Award is the premier international award of excellence in radioanalytical and nuclear chemistry. It is named after George de HEVESY (1885-1966) who received the Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 1943 for his work on the use of isotopes as tracers in the study of chemical processes. The George Hevesy Medal is awarded to an individual in recognition of excellence through outstanding, sustained career achievements in the fields of pure as well as applied nuclear and radiochemistry, in particular applications to nuclear analytical chemistry. Established originally in 1968 by the Journal of Radioanalytical and Nuclear Chemistry (JRNC) and Professor Tibor BRAUN (Editor-in-Chief of JRNC), the Hevesy Medal Award was given 19 times during 1968-86. This Award was reactivated in 2000 by Professor BRAUN. It is sponsored by JRNC and adjudicated by the International Committee on Activation Analysis/Modern Trends in Activation Analysis (ICAA/MTAA). The Award has no monetary value. The George Hevesy Medal Award comprises an engraved bronze medal in a presentation case and an ornamental scroll, which are presented at a major international radiochemical conference being held in the year of the award.

## **List of Hevesy Medal Award Recipients (1968-2013):**

- 1968 W. Wayne **MEINKE**
- 1969 Albert A. SMALES
- 1970 Ivan Pavlovich ALIMARIN
- 1972 Philippe **ALBERT** and Julien **HOSTE**
- 1975 Tibor **BRAUN** and Juraj **TÖLGYESSY**
- 1976 Francesco **GIRARDI**
- 1977 Saadia AMIEL and Richard E. WAINERDI
- 1978 Robert E. **JERVIS**
- 1979 Vincent P. **GUINN**
- 1981 William S. LYON and Max PEISACH
- 1983 Edward V. SAYRE and Garman HARBOTTLE
- 1984 Georges **AMSEL**
- 1985 Nobuo **SUZUKI**
- 1986 Emile A. SCHWEIKERT
- 2000 Frans **DE CORTE**
- 2001 Amares **CHATT** and Eiliv **STEINNES**
- 2002 Enrico SABBIONI
- 2003 Jeroen J.M. **DE GOEIJ**
- 2004 Attila **VÉRTES**
- 2005 Zhifang CHAI, Gregory CHOPPIN, Nicholas M. SPYROU
- 2006 Jan **KUČERA**
- 2007 Robert R. GREENBERG
- 2008 Syed M. **QAIM**
- 2009 Richard M. **LINDSTROM**
- 2010 Darleane C. HOFFMAN
- 2011 Peter **BODE**
- 2012 Boris F. MYASOEDOV
- 2013 Rajmund S. **DYBCZYŃSKI**

Announcement issued by:
Professor Dr. A. Chatt
Chair, Hevesy Medal Award Selection Panel 2013
President, ICAA/MTAA
a.chatt@dal.ca
2013 May 06